Pine Island Garden Club

Bokeelia - Pineland - St. James City - Matlacha

Thanks to all whom
Attended Garden Gala


Photos from the Buckingham Trip
are in the Photo Gallery


  Next Regular Meeting
 Thursday May 15 , 2014

Meetings are held at
Fishers of Men Evangelical Lutheran Church
10360 Stringfellow Road
St. James City


Click on link to read reports.
Treasurer's Report of April 14, 2014
Minutes of April 17, Regular Meeting
Minutes of January 16 Board of Directors Meeting


Outgoing Officers

2012 - 2014 Outgoing Officers (above)

2014 - 2016 Incoming Officers (below)

Incoming Officers


To write to
Gay Thompson
use the following address

Cypress Cove Room 1223
10300 Cypress Cove Drive
Fort Myers, FL 33908

Coffee Mug

Dues are $20.00 per year for individuals and $35.00 for a couple.  First time guests are welcomed without charge; a second attendance at a charge of $5.00. Further attendance will require membership in the club and the second attendance fee will be credited towards the membership dues.

Coffee Mug

This is Earleaf Acacia - if you see it remove it.  It is an invasive.

Earleaf Acacia up close
Click here for the Earleaf Acacia Flyer.


Link to Florida Exotic Plant List - 2011

The first link is a four page document.
The second link to the brochure, has the complete list on page 2.
This page is worth printing and having on hand to refer to.


See new listings on Plant Exchange Page!

Lee County has published
Lee County Landscape & Fertilizer
Best Management Practiced (BMP) Ordinance.
It has been in effect since May of 2009
Click Here for the Ordinance

Horticulture Chairperson Hope Rooney
will answer or obtain answers to any and all questions about gardening.
You mail E-Mail her direct at:

2014 - 2016 Officers
President                           Marty Kendall
 First Vice President             Pat Rooney
 Second Vice President         Nancy Kemmedy
 Ass’t 2nd VP                       John Kendall
 Recording Secretary             Bonnie Kellen
 Ass’t Recording Secretary    Kathleen Hecksher
                                     and Anne August
Corresponding Secretary     Kathie Reiter
 Treasurer                           Joan Rosenberg
 Ass’t Treasurer                   Donna Cook
 Ways & Means                    Liz Duchaine
 Membership                       Alice Trant
 Parliamentarian                  Barbara Peckinpaugh
 Historian                            Joyce Van Deusen
 Publicity                             Carol Crane

A reminder to Club members or anyone on Pine Island, that when you renew your subscription to Florida Gardening Magazine or order a new subscription, make sure you put PIGC on the form.  The Club will get $6 for every subscription and last year it was over $200. It must have PIGC in order for us to get the rebate.

Another thought is when you want to give a wonderful gift to someone that will last for a year, a subscription to the Magazine is perfect.  It is a win, win situation.  You can  give a great gift to a fellow gardener and also earns $6 for the Garden Club.

In case anyone has sent in their subscription without letting them know that it is from Pine Island Garden Club, just give me a call and I will take care of it.
Thanks,                                    Margie VanderKruik              

E-Mail the Club at -